IEEE Ottawa Section Executive Officers – Call for Nominations 2024

Given the elections could not be held at the AGM in October, the IEEE Ottawa Section is re-issuing the call for contested Candidate nominations for the 2024 IEEE Ottawa Section annual elections.  Subsequently, ballots for Executive Officers positions for a one-year term, starting January 1, 2024, will be issued.

According to IEEE Ottawa Section Bylaws, the call will be open for 30 days.  The positions available are for Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer.

The IEEE Ottawa Section Nominations and Appointments Committee proposes the current executive officers for the election slate.  These nominees are:

·       Chair – Amir Andaliby Joghataie

·       Vice-Chair – Wendy Hopkins

·       Secretary – Ankita Dey

·       Treasurer – Rim Cherif ep Fehri

Each of these executive officers would have completed one term (equivalent to one year), of service in their role at the end of Dec. 31/’23.  No officer may serve for more than two consecutive terms. Any officer or candidate must be an IEEE member of the Ottawa Section and in good standing.  If no other candidate comes forth, the proposed slate will be acclaimed.

Candidates who plan to run should full Member or ideally be Senior Member grade or higher.  Nominations should be emailed to the IEEE Ottawa Section Nominations and Appointment Committee Chair named below within the nominations window stated below.  Nominations must include the Nominees full name, IEEE member number, and IEEE grade. Nominees must be committed to devoting sufficient time – at least 10h per week (low average) – to actively participate in the IEEE Ottawa Section meetings and contribute to its activities, all activities require personal effort, dedicated time, and regular communications.

The Nomination and election schedule is as follows:

·         6 November – Nomination window opens.

·         7 December – Nomination window closes.

·       13 December – Elections begin.

·       20 December – Elections end.

·       22 December – Election results announced.

Note: The IEEE Ottawa Section Bylaws are available for you to browse at the section website:

Contact for information about the election process and for submission of Nomination:   Raed Abdullah, Chair, Nominations and Appointments Committee, IEEE Ottawa Section (  Include in the subject line either:  “Nomination – Candidate,” “Nomination – follow-up,” or other key message identifier.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

IEEE Ottawa Section Logo

© Copyright 2020 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.