The 2024



- Corporate Awards
- Appreciations Awards
- Individual Awards
- Group Awards

By Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE Awards & Recognition Committee Chair





The 2024 Corporate Awards ICT, Hi-Tech, and Clean-Tech





2024 Outstanding Information & Communications Technology Company Recognition Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding Information & Communications Technology Company Recognition Award to

Fortinet

for outstanding contributions to advancing secure telecom technology and cybersecurity innovations.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2024 Outstanding **High Technology Company**Recognition Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding High Technology Company Recognition Award to

Canadian Bank Note

for excellence in delivering secure identification solutions and its commitment to preventing fraud through advanced technology and innovation.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee

Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2024 Outstanding Clean Technology Company Recognition Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding Clean Technology Company Recognition Award to

Assent

for its leadership in ESG innovation, promoting sustainability, ethical practices, and advancing industry standards for a positive global impact.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2024 Appreciation Award





Presents the 2024 Appreciation Award to

Invest Ottawa

for its invaluable and continued support of IEEE Ottawa Section Activities.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee

Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





Presenting our Keynote Sir Terry Matthews, President & CEO Wesley Clover





The 2024 Keynote Appreciation Award



IEEE Consumer Technology Society

IEEE CTSoc Distinctive Exemplary

Industry Leader Award



IEEE CTSoc





































Sir Terence (Terry) Matthews has founded or funded over 100 high-tech companies over the past five (5) decades. He successfully recognized promising technology and start-ups, then has actively financed, led or guided these companies in producing products that have directly benefited the mass consumer market in the telecom / broadcast, healthcare, cybersecurity, and education fields of interest.

In 1972, he founded Wesley Clover International to help create Mitel Corporation. In 1986, he created the Wesley Clover Foundation, a not-for-profit,

In 1994, Matthews co-founded Celtic House International Corporation (CHIC).

Some of the other internationally renowned companies he has founded are:

Mitel Networks , Newbridge Networks, March Networks, Bridgewater Systems, Ubiquity Software, Convedia.

Additionally, Matthews has served and continues to serve on the board of directors; Solace (formerly Solace Systems) and Benbria Corporation.



Sir Terence (Terry) Matthews



6



IEEE Consumer Technology Society (CTSoc)

Presents

The 2023 Distinctive and Exemplary Industry Leader Award

to

Sir Terence Hedley Matthews

for outstanding entrepreneurial acumen and exceptional leadership in fostering and shaping innovative ecosystems within the high-tech sector, significantly redefining technological landscapes, and making transformative contributions benefiting humanity.



January 2024

Aunaltada

Wahab Almuhtadi Awarda Chair, IEEE Consumer Technology Society Wan Coy to

Wen-Chung Kao
President, IEEE Consumer Technology Society

















IEEE Consumer Technology Society (CTSoc)

Presents

The 2023 Distinctive and Exemplary Industry Leader Award to

Sir Terence Hedley Matthews

for outstanding entrepreneurial acumen and exceptional leadership in fostering and shaping innovative ecosystems within the high-tech sector, significantly redefining technological landscapes, and making transformative contributions benefiting humanity.



January 2024



Wahab Almuhtadi Awards Chair, IEEE Consumer Technology Society



Wen-Chung Kao
President, IEEE Consumer Technology Society

















Dinner will be served shortly





Entertainment by Live DI!





The 2024 Individual Awards

- Outstanding Engineering Educator Award
- Outstanding Volunteer Award





2024 Outstanding Engineering Educator Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding Engineering Educator Award to

Dr. Calvin Plett

for his dedication to inspiring students to appreciate the societal impact of STEM, and his contributions towards the advancements in analog, RF, and microwave integrated circuits.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2024 Outstanding Engineer Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding Engineer Award to

Marc Lyonnais

for advancing computer communication engineering science for Research and Education high-performance networks.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee

Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2024 Outstanding Service Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding Service Award to

Amir Andaliby Joghataie

for his exceptional services and dedication as the Chair of the IEEE Ottawa Section (2023-2024).

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee





2024 Outstanding Volunteer Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding Volunteer Award to

Ankita Dey

for her outstanding volunteering services as the Secretary of the IEEE Ottawa Section (2023-2024).

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





The 2024 Group Awards

- Outstanding Chapter award
- Outstanding Affinity Group award
- Outstanding Student Branch award
 - Outstanding Committee award





2024 Outstanding Chapter Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding Chapter Award to

The IEEE Ottawa Joint Chapter of Signal Processing, Oceanic Engineering, and Geoscience and Remote Sensing

for outstanding achievements and successful events in 2024, enhancing collaboration across the technical community.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee

Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2024 Outstanding Affinity Group Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding Affinity Group Award to

The IEEE Ottawa Section Young Professionals Affinity Group

for going above and beyond in collaborating with IEEE Canada and hosting multiple events for the Ottawa community.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2024 Outstanding Student Branch Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding Student Branch Award to

The IEEE Algonquin Student Branch

for organizing multiple impactful events, fostering student engagement, and contributing to the IEEE Ottawa Section's community.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee

Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2024 Outstanding Committee Award





Presents the 2024 Outstanding Committee Award to

The IEEE Ottawa Section STEM Outreach Committee

for promoting STEM education through impactful outreach and support for educators in the Ottawa community.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee

Amir Andaliby, MASc, MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section