The 2022



- Corporate Awards
- Appreciations Awards
- Individual Awards
- Group Awards

By Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE Awards & Recognition Committee Chair October 21, 2022





The 2022 Corporate Awards

ICT, Hi-Tech, and Clean-Tech





2022 Outstanding Information & Communications Technology Company Recognition Award





Presents the 2022 Outstanding Information & Communications Technology Company Recognition Award to

Quantropi, Inc.

for inventing and delivering novel cryptographic solutions that preserve truth and trust, leading to a next-generation technology for quantum-secure data communications and protecting data in motion and data at rest.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2022 Outstanding **High Technology Company**Recognition Award



Ottawa Section



Presents the 2022 Outstanding High Technology Company Recognition Award to

Solace

for enabling global enterprises to be more connected for real-time businesses; and developing message- oriented middleware appliances, software and SaaS platform to make event driven architecture simple.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2022 Outstanding Clean Technology Company Recognition Award



Ottawa Section



Presents the 2022 Outstanding Clean Technology Company Recognition Award to

Hyperion Global Energy

for developing first of its kind 'Tandem Carbon Recycling' technology that captures and converts waste carbon dioxide emissions from heavy industry, into valuable mineral commodities.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2022 Appreciation Award



Ottawa Section



Presents the Appreciation Award to

TELUS

for a long-standing, invaluable and continued support to IEEE Ottawa Section Activities, and to the IEEE International Conference on Communications (ICC) 2021.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





The 2022 Keynote Appreciation Award



EEE Ottawa Section



Presents this Appreciation Award to

Mr. Stephen Welby

in appreciation for his contribution to the **IEEE Ottawa Section** as the 2022 AGM Keynote Speaker.





The 2022 Individual Awards

- Outstanding Engineering Educator Award
- Outstanding Engineer Award
- Outstanding Service Award
- Outstanding Volunteer Award





2022 Outstanding Educator Award





Presents the 2022 Outstanding Educator Award to

Dr. Sylvain Charbonneau

for his long-standing dedication and leadership to Ottawa photonics/semiconductor community, contributing to successes of academia, industry, government laboratories, research and innovation; and for his distinguished commitment to education and mentorship of researchers, professors and students.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow

Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2022 Outstanding Engineer Award





Presents the 2022 Outstanding Engineer Award to

Dr. Patrick C. Chimfwembe

for his innovative contributions, in optical network performance monitoring and control systems, that provide fast, efficient and proactive optical network management.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow

Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2022 Outstanding Service Award





Presents the 2022 Outstanding Service Award to

Dr. Winnie Ye

for her contributions through the service as the Chair of IEEE Ottawa Section in 2019-2020.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow

Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





Presents the 2022 Outstanding Service Award to

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi

for his contributions through the service as the Chair of IEEE Ottawa Section in 2022.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow

Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee





2022 Outstanding Volunteer Award





Presents the 2022 Outstanding Volunteer Award to

Dr. Zied Bouida

for exemplary leadership and distinguished contributions in promoting the IEEE Young Professionals program in the IEEE Ottawa Section, IEEE Canada, and Globally.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow

Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





The 2022 Group Awards

- Outstanding Chapter award
- Outstanding Affinity Group award
- Outstanding Student Branch award
 - Outstanding Committee award





2022 Outstanding Chapter Award





Presents the 2022 Outstanding Chapter Award to

The IEEE Engineering in Medicine & Biology Society Ottawa Chapter (EMBS)

for organizing multiple highly-attended technical events in 2022.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow

Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2022 Outstanding Affinity Group Award





Presents the 2022 Outstanding Affinity Group Award to

The IEEE Ottawa Section Young Professionals

for organizing several notable events and significant achievements in 2022.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow

Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2022 Outstanding Student Branch Award





Presents the 2022 Outstanding Student Branch Award to

The IEEE Carleton University Students Branch

for organizing several technical, social, and networking events and significant achievements in 2022.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow

Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2022 Outstanding Committee Award





Presents the 2022 Outstanding Committee Award to

The IEEE Ottawa Section Publications Committee

for exceptional dedication and contributions in 2022.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow

Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section Awards & Recognition Committee

Dr. Mostafa Farrokhabadi, EIT, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section