



- Corporate Awards
- Appreciations Awards
 - Individual Awards
 - Group Awards
 - Other Awards

By Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, FEIC Awards & Recognition Committee Chair

November 26th, 2021





The 2021 Corporate Awards

ICT, Hi-Tech, and Clean-Tech





2021 Outstanding Information & Communications Technology Company Recognition Award





Presents the 2021 Outstanding Information & Communications Technology Company Recognition Award to

Ciena Canada Inc.

for its contribution in developing Ottawa ICT leadership, and promoting a robust ecosystem that advances small medium businesses, specialty companies, and developing a talent pool of next generation of ICT leaders.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2021 Outstanding **High Technology Company**Recognition Award





Presents the 2021 Outstanding High Technology Company Recognition Award to

Tallysman Wireless Inc.

for developing and manufacturing high performance Iridium antennas and accessories for Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS).

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2021 Outstanding Clean Technology Company Recognition Award





Presents the 2021Outstanding Clean Technology Company Recognition Award to

for its innovation of advanced Multi-Wavelength Quantum Dot Laser & digital/silicon photonics IC technologies that set a new industry benchmark for the lowest power dissipation for the next generation of optical interconnect solutions.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee

Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





The 2021 Keynote Appreciation Award





Presents this Appreciation Award to

Dr. Paul G. Kry

for his contribution to the IEEE Ottawa Section as the 2021 AGM Keynote Speaker.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





The 2021 Individual Awards

- Outstanding Engineering Educator Award
 - Outstanding Engineer Award
 - Outstanding Service Award
 - Outstanding Volunteer Award





2021 Outstanding Engineering Educator Award





Presents the 2021 Outstanding Educator Award to

Dr. Ashraf Matrawy

for outstanding contributions to engineering research and education, and more specifically in the field of computer and network security.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2021 Outstanding Engineer Award





Presents the 2021 Outstanding Engineering Award to

Dr. Kuang-Tsan Wu

for pioneering contributions to modern coherent optical modem development.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee

Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2021 Outstanding Service Award





Presents the 2021 Outstanding Service Award to

Mr. Ajit Pardasani

for his contributions through the service as the Chair of IEEE Ottawa Section in 2021.

> Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee





2021 Outstanding Volunteer Award





Presents the 2021 Outstanding Volunteer Award to

Mr. Wolfram Lunscher

for contributions to IEEE Ottawa Section, IEEE conferences, member activities, and community outreach.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





The 2021

Group Awards

- Outstanding Chapter award
- Outstanding Affinity Group award
- Outstanding Student Branch award
 - Outstanding Committee award





2021 Outstanding Chapter Award





Presents the 2021 Outstanding Chapter Award to

The IEEE Ottawa Aerospace and Electronics Systems Society (AESS)

for contributions in organizing a four-day workshop with Canadian Tracking and Fusion Group.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee

Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2021 Outstanding Affinity Group Award





Presents the 2021 Outstanding Affinity Group Award to

The IEEE Ottawa Young Professionals

for significant achievements in 2021.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2021 Outstanding Student Branch Award





Presents the 2021 Outstanding Student Branch Award to

The IEEE University of Ottawa Students Branch

for its significant achievements in 2021.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section





2021 Outstanding Committee Award





Presents the 2021 Outstanding Committee Award to

The IEEE Ottawa STEM Outreach Committee

for winning submission to the IEEE Pre-University STEM Portal Grant Program in 2021.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards & Recognition Committee

Ajit Pardasani, B.Eng., MSc, SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section