The 2019 IEEE Ottawa Section Awards



- Corporate Awards
- Appreciations Awards
- Individual Awards
- Group Awards

By Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, FEIC Awards & Recognition Committee Chair

> MC: Raed Abdullah, P.Eng. SMIEEE, RS/PELS Joint Chapter Chair





The 2019 Corporate Awards ICT, Hi-Tech, and Clean-Tech





2019 Outstanding Information & Communications Technology Company Recognition Award





Presents The 2019 Outstanding Information & Communications Technology Company Recognition Award to

for its commitment to innovation and network development, shaping the future of technology.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





2019 Outstanding **High Technology Company**Recognition Award



Ottawa Section



Presents The 2019 Outstanding High Technology Company Recognition Award to

Black Berry

for a significant uptake from the automotive industry's biggest brands, BlackBerry QNX has established itself as the premiere foundational software platform for today's cars and the connected and autonomous vehicles of the future.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





2019 Outstanding Clean Technology Company Recognition Award



Ottawa Section



Presents The 2019 Outstanding Clean Technology Company Recognition Award to

BluWave-ai

for use artificial intelligence (AI) and big data analytics to put the smart in smart grid and for more sustainable, affordable, & reliable energy.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





2019 Appreciation Award



Ottawa Section



Presents

The 2019 Appreciation Award to

Algonquin College

for its continued valuable and well-regarded support of the activities of IEEE Ottawa Section.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





The 2019 Keynote Appreciation Award





Presents this plaque to

Mr. Marc Rene de Cotret

in appreciation of his contribution to the IEEE Ottawa Section as the AGM 2019 Keynote Speaker.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, FEIC Chair, IEEE Ottawa Awards Committee

Dr. Winnie Ye, P.Eng., SMIEEE Chair, IEEE Ottawa Section

Ottawa, November 15, 2019





The 2019 Individual Awards

- Outstanding Engineering Educator Award
- Outstanding Engineer Award
- Outstanding Service Award
- Outstanding Volunteer Award





2019 Outstanding Engineering Educator Award





Presents The 2019 Outstanding Educator Award to

Dr. Sreeraman Rajan

for outstanding graduate student mentorship, excellence in teaching and dedication to success of students.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





2019 Outstanding Engineer Award





Presents

The 2019 Outstanding Engineering Award to

Dr. Gabriel Wainer

for innovative and outstanding contributions to the development of modelling and simulation of discrete-event dynamic systems.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





2019 Outstanding Service Award





Presents The 2019 Outstanding Service Award to

Dr. Calvin Plett

for three decades of service to the IEEE Carleton University Student Branch and the IEEE Ottawa.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





2019 Outstanding Volunteer Award





Presents The 2019 Outstanding Volunteer Award to

Dr. Branislav Djokic

for outstanding dedication and contributions through the service in many IEEE posts that led to the success of IEEE Ottawa Section.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





The 2019 Group Awards

- Outstanding Chapter award
- Outstanding Affinity Group award
- Outstanding Student Branch award
- Outstanding Committee award





2019 Outstanding Chapter Award





Presents The 2019 Outstanding Chapter to

The Ottawa Chapter of Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society

for organizing technical and professional events.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





2019 Outstanding Affinity Group Award





Presents The 2019 Outstanding Affinity Group to

The Ottawa Young Professionals

for organizing technical and professional events, and impact at the local and regional levels.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





2019 Outstanding Student Branch Award





Presents

The 2019 Outstanding Student Branch to

The University of Ottawa IEEE Students Branch

for student outreach, engagement and collaborations with other engineering sub-associations.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee





2019 Outstanding Committee Award





Presents The 2019 Outstanding Committee to

The Ottawa Robotics Competition

for encouraging young students to develop interest in science, technology, and engineering through robotics competition.

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow Chair, IEEE Ottawa Award Committee