

2009 IEEE Ottawa Section Award

1. The Outstanding Technology Company Recognition Award 2009:

Information and Communications Technologies (ICT):

Recipients:

- **Mitel** for successful leading in providing voice, video, and collaborative communications solutions and services for various businesses.
- **BreconRidge** for successful leading in innovative design and manufacturing services for electronic products that drive voice, video and data applications.
- **OneChip Photonics** for successful leading of development and manufacturing optical transceivers for access networks and broadband applications.
- SiGe Semiconductor for successful leading in designing and delivering innovative radio frequency (*RF*) solutions for next-generation wireless applications.

Clean Tech:

Recipients:

- **EcoVu** for successful leading of innovation and development of new technology of contamination detection and water purification.
- **Laflèche Environmental**, for successful leading of innovation and development longterm waste disposal solutions today and a sustainable legacy for tomorrow.

Clean Energy:

Recipients:

- **GridPoint** for successful leading of design, development of smart grid software, enables *utilities to easily manage the transformation to a Smart Grid.*
- **Quadra Solar,** for successful leading of design, development, and production solar energy generation based on photovoltaic and thermal technologies.
- **Delphi Group** for successful leading in providing solutions in the areas of climate change and corporate sustainability.

2. The Appreciation Award 2009:

Recipient:

• Algonquin College for continuous and valuable support of IEEE Ottawa Section activities.

3. IEEE Ottawa Section Outstanding Volunteer 2009:

Recipients:

- Dr. David Coll, P.Eng., IEEE Fellow for his long term and outstanding service for the IEEE Ottawa Section.
- Mr. Patrick Couture, for his outstanding service for the IEEE Ottawa Section.

4. IEEE Ottawa Outstanding Chapter Award 2009:

Recipient:

• The Antennas & Propagation Society and Microwave Theory & Techniques Society Joint Chapter for its outstanding performance in 2009.

5. IEEE Ottawa Outstanding Affinity Group 2009:

Recipient:

• The Graduates of Last Decade Affinity Group for its outstanding performance in 2009.

6. IEEE Ottawa Outstanding Committee Award 2009:

Recipient:

• The Robotics Competition Committee for its outstanding performance in 2009.

7. IEEE Ottawa Outstanding Student Branch Award 2009:

Recipients:

- The IEEE University of Ottawa Student Branch for its outstanding performance in 2009.
- The IEEE EMBS Carleton University Student Club for its outstanding performance in 2009.