



2007 IEEE Ottawa Section Award

1. The Outstanding Technology Company Recognition Award 2007:

Recipients:

- **Brookfield Power** for successful development and operation of hydroelectric green power generating stations.
- **Group IV Semiconductor Inc.** for innovation and development of lamps using silicon thin-film emitter technology (Solid State Lighting).
- Thermal Energy International Inc. for innovative technology and providing custom energy and emission reduction solutions.
- **International Datacasting** for providing innovative products for distribution of audio, video and data via satellite systems.
- Nakina Systems for providing innovative management solutions to telecommunications and data networks.
- Senstar Stellar Corporation for innovative solutions and providing outdoor perimeter intrusion detection sensors and security systems.
- **TELESAT** for innovative solutions and providing the most reliable, secure satellite communications.

2. The Appreciation Award 2007:

Recipients:

- **Biosign Technology** for supporting and sponsoring the IEEE Ottawa Section activities
- Ontario Centres of Excellence for building strong industry and academic R&D relationships and accelerating the commercialization of innovations

3. 2007 IEEE Ottawa Section Award to AGM Keynote Speaker:

Recipient:

 Mr. Paul Bush for his contribution to the IEEE Ottawa Section as the AGM 2007 Keynote Speaker

4. IEEE Ottawa Section Outstanding Volunteer Award 2007:

Recipients:

- Dr. Voicu Groza, P.Eng., SMIEEE for his leadership in establishing the international Noninvasive Blood Pressure Measurements & Standardization initiative.
- Preeti Raman for developing and providing on-line registration for the Section activities.
- George Yee for his long term contribution as Chair of the Computer Society Chapter.
- Kexing Liu for his contribution as Secretary of the Section in 2006-2007.
- Yousof Pakzad for his contribution to the Section electronic newsletter.
- Vijay Narasimhan for his contribution to the Section membership development.

5. IEEE Ottawa Section Outstanding Chapter Award 2007:

Recipients:

- The Antennas & Propagation Society and Microwave Theory & Techniques Society Joint Chapter for its outstanding performance in 2007.
- The Electron Devices Society, Circuits and Systems Society, and Solid-State Circuits Society Joint Chapter for its outstanding performance in 2007.

6. IEEE Ottawa Section Committee Award 2007:

Recipients:

• The Robotics Competition Committee for its outstanding performance in 2007.

7. IEEE Ottawa Student Branch Award 2007:

Recipient:

• IEEE Algonquin College Student Branch for its outstanding performance in 2007